Abrar Ahmed Ruled Out of First Test in Pakistan’s Tour of Australia.

Abrar Ahmed Ruled Out of First Test in Pakistan's Tour of Australia

Abrar Ahmed Ruled Out of First Test in Pakistan’s Tour of Australia – December 14 marks the start of Pakistan’s first Test match against Australia in Perth. The final Test will be played at the SCG starting on January 3, while the second Test will begin at the MCG on December 26.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced that they will be without a key leg-spinner for the first Test against Australia in Perth, which begins on December 14, dealing a serious setback to Pakistan just before the much-awaited Test series in Australia gets underway.

Due to a knee injury, leg spinner Abrar Ahmed was unable to play in the first game of the series in Perth. Abrar’s availability was in question following his departure from the pitch during Pakistan’s lone warm-up match against the Prime Minister’s XI in Canberra last week due to excruciating pain in his right leg.

On Monday, Abrar will have an intervention in Perth. Following that, he will get conservative therapy under the guidance of the team’s medical personnel to further advance his recuperation. Although he hasn’t been ruled out of the test series just yet, additional evaluation prior to the second test will determine his availability on this trip, with the player’s welfare for this and future tours being the first concern, according to a PCB statement.

In the meantime, off-spinner Sajid Khan has been named as a backup to strengthen their spin assault, per the team management’s request, which was granted by selection committee chairman Wahab Riaz. After his travel plans are confirmed, Sajid will depart for Perth.

Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jr., Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, and Shaheen Shah Afridi are the members of Pakistan’s squad for the Tests in Australia.

First Test team for Australia: Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, and Pat Cummins (captain).

The schedule for the Test series versus Australia is as follows.

Australia against. Pakistan, First Test, December 14–18, Perth Stadium
Australia vs. Pakistan, Second Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), December 26–30
Australia vs. Pakistan, Third Test, Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), January 3–7

Leave a Comment